D1D2F958-92C1-0A7A-FDCB7AB9BD580A72
D1DEEFBC-A0F7-B916-CEFA940AF8EBCE01

HAVOC

Where HAVOC helps...

HAVOC currently has more than 20 weekly projects at sites off and on the Hill that let students make a difference in the community.

Take a look at the descriptions below to learn more about a project. 
 

Mentoring
  • Jefferson After School Tutoring - Bryan Ferguson (bferguso@hamilton.edu), Kelly Watts (kwatts@hamilton.edu)
    Students from Hamilton College go to Jefferson Elementary School once a week to tutor elementary students. 
  • Study Buddies - Brian Sobotko (bsobotko@hamilton.edu), Natalie Adams (nadams@hamilton.edu)
    Study Buddies matches Hamilton volunteers with 7-12th grade students from Utica for lunch, academic tutoring, and on-campus activities tailored to the needs and interests of the students.
  • DEAR Clinton - Jessica Harper (jharper@hamilton.edu), James Hunter (jhunter@hamilton.edu)
    DEAR (Drop Everything and Read) is a program that brings Hamilton students to elementary schools in surrounding areas to help first and second graders with reading and homework.
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters - Nathalia Mahabir (nmahabir@hamilton.edu), Sarah Rahman (srahman@hamilton.edu)
    Once a month, Hamilton students meet with younger students from Utica and Rome for one-on-one fun projects.
  • Johnson Park Center (JPC) - Allison Eckert (aeckert@hamilton.edu), Sandy Rao (sxrao@hamilton.edu)
    The Johnson Park Center (JPC) works to promote change, revitalization, and community development in the heart of Cornhill, the poorest neighborhood in Utica. It provides emergency and supportive housing for women and children and runs an after school program and second-chance programs for community members in need.
  • Johnson Park Center (JPC) Art Class - Amber Torres (adtorres@hamilton.edu)
    See above description.
  • Rome Art and Community Center - Sile Li (slli@hamilton.edu), Sara Kleinman (skleinma@hamilton.edu)
    Rome Arts & Community Center is a non-profit multi-arts facility that hosts a broad range of events and services to foster creativity, cultural awareness, and a strong community connection.
  • Newcomers Classroom at the Mohawk Valley Resource Center for Refugees - Sabrina Hua (shua@hamilton.edu), Tsion Tesfaye (ttesfaye@hamilton.edu)
    Newcomers Classroom is a classroom for refugee students of age 17 - 21 that provides a specialized education equivalent to high schools. Our site strives to organize volunteers from Hamilton and support after school activities at the Newcomers Classroom.
  • Clinton Middle School Tutoring - Courtney Hobgood (chobgood@hamilton.edu), Barbara Singhakiat (bsinghak@hamilton.edu)
    Groups of Hamilton students head down the hill to the Clinton Middle School to help a small group of middle school kids with their homework after school. Tutoring is in a variety of subjects, but no tutoring experience is necessary! The kids really appreciate any help we can give to them! Volunteers and carpools are set up on a weekly basis.
  • Bowman House - Charlotte Beers (cbeers@hamilton.edu), Carter Dorsett (cdorsett@hamilton.edu)
Environment
  • Habitat for Humanity - Catherine Oglevee (coglevee@hamilton.edu)
    The Hamilton College chapter builds in the Oneida County area on a regular basis, sleeps out to raise awareness of inadequate housing, and holds whack-a-nail competitions to fund raise.
Community Building
  • Kirkland Art Center - Aaron Rogers (arogers@hamilton.edu), Patricia Taik (ptaik@hamilton.edu)
    Kirkland Art Center is an active, regional, multi-arts center, located in an old church, barn and connecting addition, on the village green in Clinton, New York. KAC Volunteers are involved in a hundred different ways: baking for the Coffeehouse concerts, painting the walls of gallery, sorting books for the book sale, and etc.
Hunger/Homelessness Relief
  • Utica Rescue Mission - Tori Fukumitsu (tfukumit@hamilton.edu), Shannon O'Brien (sobrien@hamilton.edu)
    Volunteers bring essential services to every outreach program of the Rescue Mission. Each year, Hamilton students offer their time, talent and goodness of heart to Mission projects which help make a difference in the lives of needy individuals.
  • Hope House - Laura Becker (lbecker@hamilton.edu)
    The Hope House is a soup kitchen located in downtown Utica. Students who participate have the opportunity to prepare and serve meals to those less fortunate.
  • Food Salvage - Ryan Sutuyla (rsutuyla@hamilton.edu), Sitong "Tony" Chen (schen@hamilton.edu)
    Food Salvage currently packages over 300 meals each semester that are distributed to families through the Your Neighbors Program in Utica.
  • Challah for Hunger - Victoria Lin (vlin@hamilton.edu), Louise Owens (lowens@hamilton.edu)
    Every Sunday afternoon, dedicated volunteers bake delicious loaves of challah bread that they then sell on Mondays at lunchtime.
  • Loaves and Fishes - Sam Bernstein (sbernste@hamilton.edu), Kelly Manhart (kmanhart@hamilton.edu)
  • Helping Hands - Rui Osaka (rosaka@hamilton.edu)
Elderly Aid
  • Preswick Glen - Caroline Kreidberg (ckreidbe@hamilton.edu), Rui Osaka (rosaka@hamilton.edu)
    Preswick Glen is an independent living facility located in New Hartford.  Volunteers visit Preswick Glen on a weekly basis.
  • Lutheran Home - Lauren DeGennaro (ldegenna@hamilton.edu), Jacob Weissman (jweissma@hamilton.edu)
    The Lutheran home is a nursing home in Clinton, NY. Students entertain residents and assist staff.
  • Clare Bridge - Courtney Anderson (cbanders@hamilton.edu), Harris Pollack (hpollack@hamilton.edu)
    We volunteer once a week or biweekly at an elderly home in New Hartford in order to brighten the days of elderly residents. It is so rewarding and enriching to make these people happy and to brighten their days by just showing up
Disability Aid
  • Tradewinds - Madison Atterbury (matterbu@hamilton.edu), Hannah Achorn (hachorn@hamilton.edu), Wynn Van Dusen (wvanduse@hamilton.edu), Ana Hernandez (aihernan@hamilton.edu)
    Once a week at the Tradewinds center in Chadwicks, we spend time with several groups of awesome kids, all at different ages and all with special needs, and focus on completing creative tasks with them. We've written stories, decorated quilt squares and put on plays in the past. This semester, we'll be exploring the world around us by using recyclables to construct models of the buildings we are familiar with and ones we'd like to see one day.
  • Double H Ranch - Rachel Lannino (rlannino@hamilton.edu), Scott Wilson (swilson1@hamilton.edu)
    Students travel to the Double H Ranch camp for kids with critical illnesses for full weekends as volunteers for their Adaptive Winter Sports Program.
  • Root Farm (Reindance Stables) - McKenna Kelly (mlkelly@hamilton.edu), Lauren Halladay (lhallada@hamilton.edu)
    Root Farm project is an equine-assisted therapy to help and heal children and adults with mental and physical disabilities. Volunteers work with the horses and/or one-on-one with clients in the therapy sessions.
  • Upstate Cerebral Palsy - Talia Bloom (tbloom@hamilton.edu)
    UCP helps people with cerebral palsy and autism. The ages range from infants to adults with differing severity of illnesses.
Animal Care
  • Spring Farm Cares - Alexandru Hirsu (ahirsu@hamilton.edu), Katie Glusac (kglusac@hamilton.edu), Rebekah Vacarelo (rvacarel@hamilton.edu)
    Spring Farm Cares is an animal sanctuary, where cats, dogs, horses, and rabbits, are offered a home for life. Though playing with the animals is a highlight, Hamilton volunteers also help at the Farm with various light chores, such as laundry, sweeping, or feeding the animals.  Volunteers typically visit Spring Farm for 1.5 hours at a time, and there are currently three weekend options.
  • Rome Humane Society - Daphne Assimakopoulos (dassimak@hamilton.edu), Bianca Apollon (bapollon@hamilton.edu), Emily Chan (echan@hamilton.edu)
    Rome Humane Society is an animal shelter located in Rome, NY.  Their mission is to find the right homes for stray, abandoned, and neglected dogs and cats.  Volunteering at the shelter includes folding towels, drying dishes, petting cats, and walking dogs.  Trips last around 2 hours each and run twice a week, once during the week and once on Saturday.

 

Questions or concerns? Contact the project managers for assistance.